www.gujaratindia.com - Official Portal of Gujarat Government



Gandhinagar: The Governor of Gujarat Dr.Shrimati Kamlaji presented ‘Glory of Gujarat', ‘Pride of Gujarat' and ‘Excellence' awards for the year 2009 and 2010, to the people who made special contribution in social, cultural, medical and industrial sectors.

As many as 16 persons were honored during a function organized by Indian Council of Social Welfare (Gujarat State) at Rajbhavan yesterday.

Dr.Shrimati Kamlaji in her address said that Gujarat is the land of great heroes where people like Mahatma Gandhi, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Ravishankar Maharaj and Thakkarbapa worked for the good of the society and people of Gujarat has created a unique identity, walking of the footsteps of these people.

The Governor congratulated all the people who were honored on the occasion and exuded faith that all of them will serve the society and the country with even more zeal and commitment.

Former Chief Minister Shri Shankarsinh Vaghela while appreciating the achievements of these special contributors said the award-receivers will become a source of inspiration for others also.

Former Union Minister of State Smt.Urmilaben Patel said that the award-receivers have worked for the good of the society and will prove exemplary for others.

For the year 2009, ‘Glory of Gujarat' award was given to Shri Navneetbhai Patel and Dr.Mukund Patel; ‘Excellence' award was given to Sushri Jyotsnaben Patel, Acharya Raghunath Bhatt, Vice President of Hindi Sahitya Parishad, Dr.Madhuben Nayak, Chairman, Indian Redcross Society, Gujarat Branch, Shri Harkesh Trivedi, a senior engineer who made significant contribution in the field of solar energy; ‘Pride of Gujarat' award was given to Dr.Himanshu Patel, Kidney disease expert and ‘Institutional Award' was given to Shri Jaswantlal Shah.

For the year 2010, ‘Glory of Gujarat' award was given to Shri Vinaykumar Jain and Shri Nemichand Vagharecha; ‘Excellence' award was given to Shri Jayeshbhai Shukla, Shri Gokalbhai Bhagat and Shri Kanchanbhai Patel; ‘Pride of Gujarat' award was given to Dr.Samir Dani, Heart Disease Expert and ‘Institutional Award' was given to Shri Lalbhai Shah and Shri Gautambhai Shah.

Commissionerate of Information, Gujarat

Add Gujarat State Portal News To :

http://www.gswan.gov.in, Gujarat State Wide Area Network Vibrant Gujarat Gujarat Tourism : External website that opens in a new window http://india.gov.in, The National Portal of India https://www.digitalgujarat.gov.in/, Digital Gujarat